In Dublin’s fair city, where the quilts are so pretty…

Hello all, Mary Ellen here.

Apologies to all you Irish purists out there. I know those aren’t the right words but I hope you’ll allow me a bit of license.

Are you switching out your hearts and flowers and reds and pinks to greens today (or soon anyway)? I have only a few quilted pieces for St. Patrick’s Day and am thinking I should put together one or two small toppers for the special day. Here’s a link to some ideas, in case you have a similar dilemma. Click here.   I think I’m going to round up some green scraps and try out that shamrock with four patch leaves. It should be quick and easy.

What’s your favorite technique for 4 patches? When I only need a few, and I want them to be scrappy, I like to use the two from two technique I learned from Billie Lauder at a seminar of ours a few years ago. It’s easy to get a scrappy look without having to cut so many individual assorted squares. Click here for a quick explanation of this easy technique. It’s not written by Billie, but it’s her technique clearly explained. click here.

As I’m sitting here typing, I’m listening to the drip of a leak coming from some of the ice dams across my back roof. Anybody else having those issues? I guess I’ll be back out on the flat roof of the addition tomorrow whacking away at the gutters to see what I can knock loose. Oh the joys of home ownership!

TTFN.

1 Comment

Filed under free patterns, tips and tricks, tutorials, Uncategorized

One response to “In Dublin’s fair city, where the quilts are so pretty…

  1. Thanks so much for posting this. It’s a great idea and is giving me some ideas about what to do with those cute charm packs that I bought, but haven’t done anything with.

We'd love to hear from you. Leave us a note.

